Salsa Criolla

Standard

For the flavor Salsa Criolla has, I consider it too simple and easy to make. I love the taste of lime. It goes well with many Peruvian dishes, non-Peruvian dishes and mostly all fried snacks. And it’s one of the healtier sauces I know.

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients Salsa Criolla

  • 1 medium red onion
  • 2 limes
  • A tsp of oil(Olive or any)
  • Cilantro or parsley(optional)
  • Salt & pepper

PREPARATION

1. Slice the onion, very thin. Onions a la Julienne 2. Add the lime zest, oil, cilantro or parsley(optional),salt and pepper. Mix well. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 4. Let it seat for like half an hour Salsa Criolla

 NOTES

*If you find the raw onion taste too strong, you could wash it in water and salt first when already sliced.

*The original recipe has slices of Yellow hot peper in it but as I can’t find them fresh in Toronto I just skip them.

*Some people add a teaspoon of white vinegar but I personally wouldn’t like it that way.

2 thoughts on “Salsa Criolla

Leave a comment